Greetings and salutations!  My name is Mrs. Heather Fusilier and this is my blog to share the happenings and behind the scenes of my musical world! So a little bit about myself for starts…

This is my 10th year teaching in USD 259 Wichita Public Schools. I started teaching officially in August of 2006 after receiving my degree from Wichita State University in music education. I have training in vocal and instrumental music. Besides singing I play piano, violin, viola, cello, recorder, and am currently trying to learn guitar.

In my 10 years I spent many years being shared between at least 2 schools and have taught in about a quarter of the elementary schools in our district. I have had a couple rare occasions of having my own classroom. However, I more frequently traveled from room to room on a cart and am currently sharing the one music room at Dodge Literacy Magnet team teaching with my partner, Resheta Patton.

This is my 4th year teaching at Dodge and once again we are preparing for our annual dance program. Past themes have been Boogie on the Blacktop for Halloween favorites, Party Around the Planet experiencing a little taste from different cultures, and Dancing Through the Decades where the students learned a bit about music history.  This year’s theme is equally fun and is entitled “Broadway on 2nd St.” featuring many popular Broadway musicals to showcase each grade level, the teachers, and even involving the audience.  Before the program each year, we invite our school community to dinner. In the past our PE teachers, Kim Morrissey and Kyle Small, have provided the main dish for the meal. However, the last couple of years we have started being served by our local food truck vendors such as The Flying Stove and Funky Monkey Munchies.

The night to remember is Thursday, September 24th! Dinner will start roughly around 5 p.m. with the dance starting about 6:30 p.m. Come early to find parking and don’t forget your lawn chairs and blankets for seating. We’ll be set up in our parking lot at the corner of 2nd St. and Anna here in Wichita, Kansas. So if you are in the neighborhood, stop on by! We’d love to see you!

Leave a Reply

